Decluttering for dummies

We own too much stuff. It is a hot topic and everyone seems to be reading, writing or blogging about it. I am trying to declutter my home for several years now. I’ve had a few successes, many trips to the local charity but also some projects that have failed. I started something new this november. I am trying to declutter by giving away or throwing away one item per day. Slowly but steadily decluttering my house, I am hoping this will give me more space, less stuff to worry about, and more realizing what’s important to me.

And it worked! This is what I decluttered in november. I threw away lots of stuff, and put some other things in a box for charity that I will bring as soon as my box is full.

I started my decluttering project slowly and easy. Some of the stuff I decluttered were already broken. Or incomplete. Or old. However, I am the person who still thinks: ‘You never know if I ever could use this again’ or ‘I will use this for crafting’. That is why this was a good exercise for me. I had to think about decluttering every day and I had to be honest with myself: am I really going to use this some time? Really? This was a succes, and I am absolutely continuing this in december.

We hebben te veel spullen. Het is een ‘hot topic’ en iedereen lijkt er over te lezen, schrijven of bloggen. Ook ik probeer al enkele jaren mijn huis te ‘ontspullen’, met wisselend succes. Ik heb best al wat bereikt, heel wat tripjes afgelegd naar het containerpark en de kringwinkel, maar er waren ook projectjes die niet echt een succes waren. In november probeerde ik iets nieuws. Ik probeer sinds november te ‘ontspullen’ door 1 ding per dag weg te geven of weg te gooien. Traag maar gestaag je huis ontspullen, dat is het idee.

En het werkte! Hieronder kan je zien wat ik in november weg deed. Ik gooide heel wat spullen weg maar deed er ook een aantal in een doos die klaar staat voor de kringwinkel. Ik breng hem weg zodra de doos vol is.

Ik ben klein begonnen. Sommige dingen die ik weg deed waren al stuk. Of oud. Of onvolledig. Toch heb ik steeds de neiging om te denken: ‘Je weet maar nooit of ik hier nog iets mee kan’ of ‘ik zal dit gebruiken om te knutselen’. Daarom was dit voor mij een goede oefening. Ik was verplicht om elke dag heel even na te denken over ontspullen. Heb ik dit echt nog nodig? Ga ik hier écht ooit nog iets mee doen? Ik moest eerlijk zijn tegenover mezelf en knopen doorhakken. En dat is best goed gelukt. Ik ga hier in december zeker mee door.

 

3 responses to “Decluttering for dummies

  1. Pingback: Decluttering in december | coralidea

  2. Pingback: Decluttering in january | coralidea

  3. Pingback: Decluttering in february | coralidea

Leave a Reply

