Crochet for beginners

This book was a present months ago, but since I never tried crochet in my life, I did not dare to give it a go. Until recently! I learned myself to crochet using the book and youtube. It is not quite as hard as I thought it would be. I had to search a while for some good youtube instructions but once I found that, I was on my way. You can find good (dutch) instructions here and here.

Dit boek was een cadeautje van maanden geleden, maar aangezien ik nog nooit gehaakt had lag het sindsdien in mijn kast stof te vergaren. Tot twee weken geleden! Ik leerde mezelf haken met behulp van het boek en youtube. Het is lang niet zo moeilijk als ik dacht. Ik moest even zoeken naar goede instructies maar eenmaal ik die gevonden had, kon ik aan de slag. Goede instructies kan je hier en hier vinden.

Crochet flowers

I started with making this small and easy flower. Perfect to practice the different kinds of stitches. I used wool and a 5 mm hook. I first tried starting with cotton fibers and a smaller 3 mm hook, but this was simply too hard in the beginning.

Ik begon met het maken van deze kleine en makkelijke bloem. Ideaal om de verschillende soorten steken te oefenen. Ik gebruikte wol en een grote haak van 5 mm. Eerst wou ik starten met de typische katoendraad en een kleinere haak van 3 mm maar dit was in het begin eenvoudigweg te moeilijk.

Crochet easy flower

I got ‘hooked on’ (haha) real quick! I made 4 different flowers from the book now. The instructions are clear once you know the basic stitches. Counting stitches and working really precisely is very important, though, since mistakes do show in the end result. I made these flowers using a 3 mm hook and cotton tread. I love this! Still thinking about what I am going to do with them. I bought some coloured cotton tread and my next crochet project will be an AMIGURUMI! That is basically a crochet toy.

Ik vind haken helemaal geweldig! Ik maakte nu al 4 verschillende bloemen uit het boek. De instructies zijn echt wel duidelijk eenmaal je de basissteken kent. Steken tellen en heel precies werken is wel nodig want je ziet fouten wel degelijk in het eindresultaat. Ik maakte de bloemen met een 3 mm haaknaald en katoendraad. Ik ben nog aan het nadenken over wat ik met ze zal doen. Ik kocht nu gekleurde katoendraad en mijn volgend haakproject wordt een AMIGURUMI! Dat is een soort van gehaakte knuffel.

crochet flower

One response to “Crochet for beginners

  1. Pingback: Amigurumi green rabbit | coralidea

Leave a Reply

