hand lettering: oil and water painting

015

016 (2)

017 (2)

About the techniques: My first attempt at oil painting! I painted all the letters with oil paint and the background in water paint. I’m really happy with the shapes of the letters!

I tried to experiment with the thickness of the paint. At first, I was scared to layer the oil paint. I layered the paint a lot more in the second slogan, and I like the strong contrast between the three-dimensional oil paint and the flat water paint. I’m not entirely happy with the colour of the letters in the second slogan, though. Mixing the paint turned out to be harder than I thought. I need to buy some good oil painting brushes and a paint mixing tool.

About the image: ‘Life is easy’ and ‘Follow your dreams’. I feel very inspired by both slogans, but sometimes it seems so hard to bring them both in practice at once. I believe you can make your own life a lot easier by, for example, decluttering, not overthinking, setting realistic goals, enjoying simple pleasures, …

Life can be easy, but to truly follow your dreams you need focus, you need a lot of practice, and most of the time you need money to invest in materials, gear, … You need time as well, but I also need time to earn that money. So the balance between both slogans is quite hard.

 

Over de technieken: Mijn eerste poging tot olieverven! Ik verfde alle letters met olieverf en de achtergrond met waterverf. Ik ben echt blij met de vorm van de letters!

Ik probeerde te experimenteren met de dikte van de verflaag. Eerst was ik wat bang om de verf dik te lagen. In de tweede slogan durfde ik veel meer olieverf te gebruiken, en ik hou wel van het sterke contrast tussen de driedimensionale olieverf en de zeer vlakke waterverf. Ik ben niet helemaal tevreden met de kleur van de letters in de tweede slogan. De verf mengen was niet zo makkelijk. Ik moet binnenkort goede penselen voor olieverf en een mengpalet kopen.

Over de afbeelding: ‘Life is easy’ en ‘follow your dreams’. Ik voel me erg geïnspireerd door beide slogans, maar soms lijkt het zo moeilijk om beide samen in de praktijk om te zetten. Ik geloof echt dat je je eigen leven een pak eenvoudiger kan maken door bijvoorbeeld minder spullen te hebben, minder piekeren, realistische doelen stellen, eenvoudige dingen te leren appreciëren, …

Het leven kan eenvoudig zijn maar om echt je dromen na te jagen heb je zaken nodig als focus, veel oefening, en meestal ook geld om te investeren in materiaal, … Je hebt ook tijd nodig, maar ik heb mijn tijd ook nodig om dat geld te verdienen. Dus ik vind de balans tussen beide slogans niet altijd eenvoudig.

Leave a Reply

