Clutter basket

sewing a clutter basket

I wanted a replacement for the empty shoe box that we used as a clutter basket for a long time. The box is right behind the door and I keep lonely screws, coins, ballpoints and other clutter found in my bags and pockets. This replacer is at the exact same spot, this time I choose for a basket and not a box. In French, there even is a word for a basket like this: ‘vide poche’, or litterally ‘Empty pockets’.

The design comes from this book (in Dutch). I used a light cotton for the inside of the basket and a heavier cotton for the outside. In between both sides is a layer of craft rubber. I had some troubles cutting the rubber at the exact size and had to adjust it quite a lot.. It is important to work really exact for this project and it seems I stil can learn somewhat about that. I like the result, though!

 

Ik wou al een tijd een vervanger voor de lege schoendoos die we al heel lang als ‘spulletjes verzamelplaats’ gebruikten. De doos staat vlak achter de deur en ik laat hier eenzame schroeven, muntstukken, balpennen en andere kleine spullen achter die ik in mijn zakken en handtassen vind. Deze vervanger staat op exact dezelfde plaats, alleen is het nu geen doos maar een mand! In het Frans is er zelfs een woord voor een mand of doos zoals dit: ‘vide poche’ of letterlijk vertaald: ‘zakken leegmaker’.

Het ontwerp komt uit dit boek. Ik gebruikte een licht katoentje voor de binnenkant en een steviger katoen voor de buitenkant. Tussen beide laagjes is een laag knutselrubber. Ik had wat moeite om het knutselrubber op de exact juiste maat te knippen en moest behoorlijk wat bijknippen. Voor dit project is het belangrijk om heel precies te werken en ik kan hier precies nog bijleren. Ik hou wel van het eindresultaat!

sewing a clutter basket

sewing a clutter basket

Sewing a clutter basket

One response to “Clutter basket

  1. Pingback: 25 => 26 goal recap | coralidea

Leave a Reply

