The Creative License

I have to admit, I hardly ever buy books. I am a regular visitor of my local library and most of the time I don’t feel the need to own the books I read. This summer, however, I came across ‘The Creative License’ and I made an exception. I will explain you why.

The book was written in 2006 and if you google it, you will quickly discover that it is extremely popular. I am thus quite late with my big discovery, but the fact that I don’t live in the US probably explains it a little bit. I really like drawing and when I read a few reviews, I was sold immediately.

In the book, author Danny Gregory wants to inspire everybody to draw no matter what, even badly. He believes everybody is creative. You CAN do it, but you have to practice and make time for it. There are a lot of practical (but fun) instructions on drawing in the book as well. Very inspiring! I wanted to pick up a scetch book and start immediately.

Gregory encourages you to draw every day. That turns out being a lot harder than I thought but I WILL KEEP ON TRYING. Look down to see some of my first drawings acording to the instructions in the book. I will post more as I progress in the book (I am now at page 46). Love this book!!

 

Ik moet toegeven dat ik bijna nooit boeken koop. Ik ben een regelmatige bezoeker van de plaatselijke bibliotheek en meestal voel ik niet de noodzaak om de boeken die ik lees ook te ‘bezitten’. Deze zomer ontdekte ik echter ‘The Creative License’ en maakte ik een uitzondering. Ik zal jullie uitleggen waarom.

Het boek werd geschreven in 2006 en als je even op google kijkt zal je snel ontdekken dat het heel erg populair is. Ik was dus behoorlijk laat met mijn ‘grote ontdekking’, maar het feit dat ik niet in de VS woon speelt hier ook wel wat een rol in. Ik hou heel erg van tekenen en toen ik enkele reviews las, was ik meteen verkocht.

Met het boek wil auteur Danny Gregory iedereen inspireren om te tekenen, wat je ook denkt of vind van jezelf. Hij gelooft dat iedereen creatief is en kan bereiken wat hij maar wil. Je moet er wel voor oefenen en vooral tijd vrijmaken. Er zijn ook veel leuke praktische tips, voorbeelden en oefeningen in het boek. Heel inspirerend! Ik had zin om meteen een schetsboek te nemen en te starten met tekenen.

Mr. Gregory spoort je aan om elke dag te tekenen. Dat blijkt voor mij heel moeilijk te zijn, maar IK BLIJF PROBEREN! Kijk hieronder voor enkele van mijn eerste tekeningen volgens de oefeningen in het boek. Ik zal er zeker nog posten als ik vorder in het boek (ik ben nu pas aan pagina 46).

 

001

002

002 (2)

003 (3)

004 (2)

005

2 responses to “The Creative License

  1. Pingback: A sneek peek into my sketch book (part 1) | coralidea

  2. lifethroughjoannaseyes

    Zo mooi en creatief! 👌

Leave a Reply

