Microwave cake

034

A friend gave me a fairtrade cookbook for my birthday, and a while ago I tried my first dessert from the book. It is described in the book as ‘Orange and chocolate pudding’, but in my opinion it looked a lot more like cake. I liked it!

I tried several microwave chocolate cup cakes in the past few months but I never tried a different kind of cake. Microwaved cakes are actually more ‘steamed cakes’, and my recipe let me choose to steam my cake for 2 hours or microwave it for 10 minutes (wasn’t a hard choise!).

The great thing about this cake is that it’s served warm and with a simple orange and honey sauce. It is something a bit different, but still with simple ingredients. For the cake you will need some butter, honey and (peeled) orange parts to cover the bottom of a microwave bowl. First a very thin layer of butter, then some honey and finally the orange parts. Then, you mix flour (175g), sugar (100g), butter (100g), 2 eggs and the grated peel of an orange. Add some chocolate chips, pour everything in your microwave bowl and warm it for 10 minutes (850 watt).

 

Een vriendin gaf me een fairtrade kookboek van Oxfam voor mijn verjaardag en een tijdje geleden probeerde ik mijn eerste dessert eruit. In het boek staat het beschreven als ‘Sinaasappel- en chocoladepudding’, maar als je het mij vraagt ziet het er meer uit als cake. Maar ik hield er wel van!

Ik probeerde de voorbije paar maanden al verschillende chocolade microgolf cakes in een kop, maar nooit probeerde ik iets meer gewaagd. Microgolf cakes zijn overigens eigenlijk eerder ‘gestoomde cakes’. Ook mijn recept liet me kiezen tussen de cake 2 uur stomen of 10 minuten in de microgolf. Het was geen moeilijke keuze 🙂

Het geweldige van deze cake is dat hij warm wordt geserveerd met een warme sinaasappel- en honingsausje. Het is eens iets anders, en toch met eenvoudige ingrediënten. Voor de cake zelf heb je wat boter, honing en sinaasappelschijfjes nodig, die je in die volgorde in een microgolfschaal smeert of legt. Verder meng je zelfrijzende bloem (175g) met suiker (100g), boter (100g), 2 eitjes en geraspte sinaasappelschil. Je voegt chocoladestukjes toe, giet alles in de schaal en warmt het met deksel 10 minuten op (850 watt). Klaar is kok!

Leave a Reply

