Arm knitting: infinity scarf

025 (2)

I have to admit: I can’t knit. I’ve never done it and I don’t have knitting needles. I was rather curious about it, though. That’s why, when I found a tutorial to make an infinity scarf without needles, I wanted to try it instantly. I had a lot of fun!

With this method, you are using your arms as knitting needles.

I had to watch the video several times and pauze it a lot before I was properly started. A website with clear step-by-step photo’s that can help is this one. Once on my way, I really liked it! Very relaxing, too πŸ™‚

026 (2)

You have to keep in mind, though, that you won’t be able to stop knitting before your scarf is finished. I used one ball of super bulky yarn (you really need super bulky yarn!), but my scarf turned out to be a little short. I can put it round my neck once, but not twice. I’m surely planning on making a second scarf, with 2 balls of yarn.

027 (2)

Ik moet toegeven dat ik niet kan breien. Ik heb het nooit gedaan en ik heb ook geen breinaalden. Toch was ik er nieuwsgierig naar. Toen ik deze tutorial vond om een eindeloze sjaal te breien zonder naalden, wou ik het meteen proberen. Met succes!

Met deze methode gebruik je je voorarmen als breinaalden.

Ik moest als breileek de video meermaals bekijken en vaak pauzeren voor ik aan de slag kon. Een website met duidelijke stap-voor-stap foto’s die hierbij kan helpen is deze. Eenmaal op weg vond ik het super om te doen! Erg ontspannend ook πŸ™‚

Hou wel in je achterhoofd dat je moeilijk kan stoppen met breien voor je sjaal af is (ahja, hij hangt aan je polsen!). Ik gebruikte 1 bol superdikke wol (je hebt echt superdikke wol nodig, niet valsspelen dus!), maar mijn sjaal bleek achteraf iets te kort. Ik krijg hem eenmaal, maar geen tweemaal rond mijn nek. Ik plan nu al om een tweede sjaal te maken, ditmaal met 2 bollen wol.

Leave a Reply

